UPSC Exam Eligibility

This article contains the complete details of UPSC eligibility criteria For UPSC 2020

Searching for accurate knowledge about UPSC eligibility criteria is the first step towards the IAS preparation procedure.

IAS Exam 2020 Eligibility: Overview

IAS Age Limit


21 – 32 Years
Age Relaxation


As per category (mentioned below)
Educational Qualification Any Graduation


Nationality Indian citizens only

IAS Exam 2020 Eligibility: Age limit for UPSC

As per the Civil Services Age Limit, the candidate Should be between 21 and 32 years, as on 1st August 2020 (for the UPSC CSE 2020), i.e., he must have been born not earlier than 2nd August 1988 and not later than 1st August 1999.

Civil Services Age Limit is an important factor in the eligibility criteria. Therefore candidates are requested to check these details properly before filling the online application form.

Category UPSC Age Limit- Upper Relaxation Number of Attempts
General  32 6
OBC 35 9
SC/ST 37 Unlimited (Up to age limit)
Disabled Defence Services Personnel 35 9
Ex-Servicemen 37 9
Persons with Benchmark Disability- EWS (Economically Weaker Section) 42 9

For Details of the EWS Reservation Category, click here

For details of the Physically Handicapped Category, click here


As per the IAS Eligibility for Defence Servicemen, the persons Disabled in operations during hostilities with any foreign country or in a disturbed area and released as a consequence thereof have special Civil Services age limit relaxation.

The IAS Eligibility states that ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of 5 years Military Service as on 1st August 2020 get five years of age relaxation, provided whose assignment has been extended beyond five years and in whose case the Ministry of Defense issues a certificate that they can apply for civil employment and that they will be released on three months’ notice on the selection from the date of receipt of an offer of appointment.

IAS Exam 2020 Eligibility: Educational Qualification for UPSC

The various academic requirements as per the IAS Eligibility Criteria are given below:

  • Minimum qualification for UPSC exam: The candidate must hold a degree from Government recognized Universities or possess an equivalent qualification.
  • Candidates who are in their final year or awaiting results are also eligible to appear for UPSC preliminary Examination. All such candidates who are likely to appear for IAS exams must produce proof of having passed the said examination along with the application for the main IAS examination.
  • Candidates having professional and technical qualifications recognized by the Government as equivalent to professional and technical degrees.
  • Medical students who have passed the final year of MBBS, but are yet to complete their internship also have eligibility for IAS. Although, along with the Main Examination application, a certificate of course completion (including internship) from the concerned authority of the University/Institution has to be submitted.

IAS Exam 2020 Eligibility: Nationality

For IAS and IPS:

  • Candidate must be a citizen of India

All other Services:

  • Candidate must be either:-
    1. A citizen of India, or
    2. A subject of Nepal, or
    3. A subject of Bhutan, or
    4. A Tibetan refugee who came to India before 1st January 1962 intending to settle in India permanently, or
    5. A person of Indian origin (PIO) who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Ethiopia, Zaire and Vietnam intending to settle in India permanently.
  • The candidates belonging to categories (2), (3), (4) and (5) should furnish a certificate of eligibility issued by the Government of India. Such candidates may take the exam before getting the said certificate of eligibility, but he/she would get the offer of appointment only after the Government of India has issued the certificate.
  • Point to Note: A person belonging to categories (2), (3) and (4) are not eligible for appointment to the Indian Foreign Service (IFS).

Summary of the UPSC eligibility criteria

Eligibility Criteria


Nationality for IAS exam Must be a citizen of India, a person of Indian origin or a subject of Nepal, Bhutan or Tibet settled in India before 1st January 1962.
Educational Qualification For IAS Exam


Candidate must hold a graduate degree from a recognized university.
UPSC Age limit for IAS exam Candidate must be a minimum of 21 years of age and must not be more than 32 years of age.


            Category wise UPSC Age Limit, Relaxation and Max. no of Attempts

Category Age Limit; Relaxation; Max. no of Attempts
General Category and EWS 32 years; 6 attempts
OBC(with certificate) 32 years + 3 years; 9 attempts
SC/ST 32 years + 5 years; unlimited attempts
Physically Disabled 32 years + 10 years; Gen/OBC/Person with Benchmark Disability(EWS category)- 9 attempts & SC/ST unlimited attempts
    Jammu & Kashmir Domicile 32 years + 5 years + (3 years, if OBC OR 5 Years, if SC/ST); Number of attempts depends on the reserved category
Disabled and discharged Defense service personnel 32 years + 3 years + (3 years, if Gen/OBC OR 5 years, if SC/ST)
  Ex-Servicemen Commission Officer 32 years + 5 years + (3 years, if OBC OR 5 Years, if SC/ST)

All the best for your UPSC Preparation.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top